Sleeping on the Job, or in which I make BBQ chicken Pizza

Leave a comment

10/21/2010 by Lisa

So this week I’m taking a vacation from work, and spending some much needed time napping, relaxing with the baby, tinkering around with new projects, and spending some time thinking about what I want to do with my life. It also happens to be “budget” week, which is code for “we ain’t got no money.” Kinda stinks because I wanted to go out and do things this week. But hey, at least we have a roof over our heads, right?

So, one of my projects for this week was to make bread. I never made bread before, except for some Parker House Rolls for Thanksgiving last year. So I had bread flour, yeast and everything else on hand, so I thought I’d give this recipe a go. Right after I watched an episode of Chopped.

Right. Remember what I said about napping?

So that left me with 2 hours before dinner and no clue with what to make, but still hankering to make bread. Typically I would reach for the take out menu, but I’m really trying to commit to making everything I can (and oh, yeah, we’re budgeting this week). Suddenly, I get the idea to make BBQ Chicken Pizza. It was a mishmash of this recipe, from the Pioneer Woman

  • 1 teaspoon Instant Or Active Dry Yeast
  • 1-½ cup Warm Water
  • 4 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • ⅓ cups Olive Oil
  • 1 whole Recipe For Pizza Crust (mine Makes Two Crusts)
  • 2 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • ½ cups Barbecue Sauce
  • Olive Oil, For Drizzling
  • Salt For Sprinkling
  • 16 ounces, weight Fresh Mozzarella Cheese, Sliced Thinly
  • ½ whole Red Onion, Cut In Half And Sliced Very Thin
  • Chopped Cilantro, to taste

I followed the instructions, but I used bread flour instead of AP flour. And halfway through I read the label and apparently my yeast expired in September. And I didn’t have mozzarella on hand but I did have some cheddar mix from taco night last week. And the husband hates onions, so I didn’t add them, but I didn’t have them anyway. (I love onions, and would have put them on half the pizza).

The pizza was flat and a little lame, but the topping was flavorful!  I’m proud of myself for trying something new, if not entirely successful, and improvising to make something when I could have just grilled some chicken and made some rice.

Sorry for no picture. I need a camera cord and by time I rembered to take a picture of it it was all cold and eaten.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

